About Pushkar

about pushkar The holy city of Pushkar is located in the Ajmer district of Rajasthan, India. Pushkar is one of the five sacred dhams or pilgrimage sites for devout Hindus. One of the oldest cities of India. Pushkar lies on the shore of the sacred Pushkar Lake. The sacred waters of the Pushkar lake are considered at par with the waters of the Mansarovar lake situated on way to Mount Kailash the abode of Shiva. The date of actual origin of Pushkar is unknown, but legend associates Lord Brahma with its creation. Pushkar is also referred to as "Tirtha- Guru" - the Guru of pilgrimage sites or “Tirtha-Raj “ the king of all pilgrimage sites. Pushkar clearly qualifies for this title as it meets all criteria of the 4 categories of Hindu pilgrimages, “ The Deva –Tirtha”, “Asura-Tirtha”, “Arsha Tirtha” and “Manushya-Tirtha” It is said that Brahma performed penance here for 60,000 years Pushkar has many temples. Most of the temples are not very old, since many were destroyed during Muslim conquests of the area. Many of these destroyed temples were re-built. The most famous among all is the Brahma Temple. Today Just a few temples dedicated to Lord Brahma exist . Temples dedicated to Brahma are also located, Bithoor in Uttar Pradesh , Asotra near Balotra in Barmer district of Rajasthan , Besakih in Bali and Prambanan in Indonesia. The Pushkar lake has 52 ghats where pilgrims descend to the lake to bathe in the sacred waters.

Every year Pushkar plays host to the Pushkar Fair which is now well known world over for its Religious fervour ,festivities and the camel , Cattle fair that takes place along the sidelines of this annual gathering. The Pushkar fair occurs every year in the Hindu month of kartik (October /November).

The first Sikh Guru, Guru Nanak is believed to have bathed in the sacred waters of the Pushkar lake, the Tenth Sikh Guru, Guru Gobind Singh also visited Pushkar in 1705 and a ghat “ Guru Gobind Singh Ghat” is named after him. At Pushkar

Pushkar Ghats - Pushkar Bathing Ghats & Sacred Ghats of Pushkar
The holy lake of Pushkar is surrounded by Ghats or Embankments where the various religious ceremonies are conducted by the Pilgrims visiting Pushkar. Originally there were just 12 ghats at Pushkar, also referred to as the Original Ghats of Pushkar and attributed to Rao Nahar Mal Parihara of Mandor ( Near Jodhpur 7th Century) today there are 52 Ghats at Pushkar with Old / New Temples built .Watching life at it unfurls at these ghats gives a great insight into the religious beliefs of the devout Hindus. These Ghats at Pushkar are not only visited by the pilgrims but also abode to various Sadhus ,ascetics and their sects. No visit to Pushkar is complete without a visit to these ghats.
The 12- Original Ghats at Pushkar Attributed to Nahar Mal Rao Parihara & the 52 Ghats as known today :

Gau Ghat
• Gau Ghat ( Raj Babra Temple )
• Janana / Queen Mary Ghat
• Chir Ghat
• Nagar Ghat
• Jagannath Ghat
• Ram Ghat
• Mukti Ghat
• Gangaur Ghat
• Asthal Ghat.

Badri Ghat
• Badri Ghat ( Old Rang-ji Temple )
• Bhind Bhadawar / Nagar Palika Ghat
• Vishram / Jhulelal
• Vishram / Jhulelal
• Kurmanchal Ghat.

Pachdevri Ghat
• Pachdevri Ghat
• Holkar / Ahilya / Indore Ghat.

Varaha Ghat
• Varaha Ghat ( Varaha Temple )
• Pachdevri Ghat

108 Mahadev Ghat
• Chandra Ghat
• Indra Ghat
• Gwalior Ghat ( Koteshwar Mahadev Temple )
• Bagula Ghat
• Panch Vir
• Jaisalmer / Kishangarh Ghat
• Guru Gobind Singh Ghat
• Man / Jaipur Ghat.

Saptrishi Ghat
• Saptarishi Ghat.

Mandor / Gurjara Ghat
• Bundi Ghat
• Balunda Ghat
• Vir Gurjara Ghat
• Sikar Ghat

Swarup Ghat
• Swarup Vallabh Ghat ( Savitri Temple )
• Kota Ghat.

Hingor Mal Ka Mahal
• Hingor Mal Mahal / Tantuvaya Vaishya Ghat
• Chauri Paidi Ghat.

Kalyan Ghat
• Kalyan Ghat ( Rama Baikunth Temple )
• Raj Bohra Ghat ( Brahma Temple )
• Karni Ghat
• Tarni Ghat
• Parashuram Ghat ( Nimbark )
• Savitri Ghat.

Brahma Ghat
• Brahma Ghat ( Brahma Temple )
• Dadhicha / Hada Ghat
• Sati Ghat.

Yajna Ghat
• Yajna Ghat ( Riddhi Siddhi Temple )
• Shitla Mata Ghat
• Chhik Mata Ghat
• Bharatpur Ghat
• Rehgaran / Gandhi / Shaheed Ghat.